man wird in die computer-steinzeit zurückversetzt…… als ram bausteine noch 100kbyte fassten….

limitations……

limitations……

limitations……

limitations……

i hate

limitations……

2.5. Variable argument length

From a Slashdot interview to Rob Pike: I didn’t use Unix at all, really, from about 1990 until 2002, when I joined Google. (I worked entirely on Plan 9, which I still believe does a pretty good job of solving those fundamental problems.) I was surprised when I came back to Unix how many of even the little things that were annoying in 1990 continue to annoy today. In 1975, when the argument vector had to live in a 512-byte-block, the 6th Edition system would often complain, ‚arg list too long‘. But today, when machines have gigabytes of memory, I still see that silly message far too often. The argument list is now limited somewhere north of 100K on the Linux machines I use at work, but come on people, dynamic memory allocation is a done deal!

While Linux is not Plan 9, in 2.6.23 Linux is adding variable argument length. Theoretically you shouldn’t hit frequently „argument list too long“ errors again, but this patch also limits the maximum argument length to 25% of the maximum stack limit (ulimit -s).

Code: (commit)

Powered by ScribeFire.