KZ-Überlebender… NAZI-Wiederstandskämpfer… ein totaler Rebell, eine interessante Persönlichkeit.

Satprem (* 30. Oktober 1923 in Paris; † 9. April 2007) war ein französischer Autor und bedeutender Schüler von Mirra Alfassa, genannt Die Mutter.



(1923 – 2007)

    A sailor and a Breton, though born in Paris in 1923. A member of the French Resistance, Satprem was arrested by the Gestapo when he was twenty and spent a year and a half in concentration camps. Devastated, he journeyed first to Upper Egypt, then to India, where he served in the French colonial government of Pondicherry. There he discovered Sri Aurobindo and Mother. Their Message — Man is a transitional being— struck a deep chord. He resigned his post and left for Guiana, where he spent an adventurous year in the middle of Amazonian jungle, then wandered on to Brazil, Africa….
In 1953, at thirty, Satprem returned to India for good to be near Her who was in search of the secret of the passage to the next species— Mother, whose confidant and witness he became for some twenty years. His first essay was dedicated to Sri Aurobindo or the Adventure of Consciousness and followed a few years later by On the Way to Supermanhood.
At the age of fifty, he edited and published the fabulous logbook of Mother’s exploration, Mother’s Agenda, in 13 volumes, while at the same time writing a trilogy — The Divine Materialism, The New Species, The Mutation of Death — followed by an essay, The Mind of the Cells.
In 1982, with his companion Sujata, Satprem withdrew completely to embark on the last adventure: the search for the great passage in the evolution beyond Man. In 1989, after seven years spent digging in the body,he wrote a brief autobiographical account, The Revolt of the Earth, in which he took stock of Man’s present situation. Three years later came Evolution II, a pithy record of Satprem’s journey through our human and terrestrial grave: After Man, who? But the question is: After Man, how?
In 1994, Satprem edited Letters of a Rebel, two volumes of autobiographical correspondence. The next year, he wrote The Tragedy of the EarthFrom Sophocles to Sri Aurobindo, which draws a curve from the Vedic and pre-Socratic era to our Iron Age and to Sri Aurobindo, who embodies the last turning point of our human destiny. The Key of Tales appeared in 1998, followed in 2000 by The Legend of the Future. In 1999, Satprem also started the publication of his Notebooks of an Apocalypse (in French, seven volumes published so far, and in English, one volume available), the record of his work in the depths of the body consciousness, in which he was brutally plunged after Mother’s departure in 1973.

(1925 – 2007)

Titel in deutscher Sprache

  • Mutters Agenda 1951-1973, 13 Bände (Verlag Hinder + Deelmann )

Titel in französischer Sprache

  1. – Werke, die Satprem während seines Aufenthaltes im Ashram (mit dem Segen der Mutter) geschrieben hat:
    • L’Orpailleur (1960)
    • Le Véda ou La Destinée Humaine (1961)
    • Sri Aurobindo ou L’Aventure de la Conscience (1964)
    • Le Grand Sens (1969)
    • Sri Aurobindo et l’avenir de la Terre
    • Par le Corps de la Terre ou Le Sannyasin ( 1974)
    • La Genèse du Surhomme ( 1974)
  2. – Werke, die Satprem nach der Trennung vom Ashram und dem Tod der Mutter geschrieben hat:
    • Mère – Une trilogie (1977, 1. Le Matérialisme Divin, 2. L’Espèce Nouvelle, 3. La Mutation de la Mort)
    • Introduction à l’Agenda de Mère (1977)
    • Gringo (1980)
    • Sept Jours en Inde avec Satprem – Interview par Towarnicki (1981)
    • Le Mental des Cellules (1981)
  3. – Werke, die Satprems eigene Erfahrungen nachzeichnen:
    • La Vie sans Mort (1985)
    • La Révolte de la Terre 1990)
    • Lettres d’un Insoumis – Correspondance en 2 volumes (1994) couvrant la période 1947-1973
    • La Tragédie de la Terre – de Sophocle à Sri Aurobindo (1995)
    • La Clé des Contes (1997)
    • Néanderthal Regarde (1999)
    • Une lettre récente de Satprem (1999)
    • Carnets d’une Apocalypse 1973-1978 (1999)
    • La Légende de l’Avenir (2000) précédé de „Un Coup de Phare“.
    • Carnets d’une Apocalypse (suite: 1978-1982) (octobre 2000)